Final Goodbye…

Today is not the final goodbye, but tomorrow will be. Well, I don’t like telling people goodbye, so I’ll just say “see you later.”

See you later, Ivan, the intellect!

See you later, Maya, the comedian!

See you later, Rodney, the “hungry man basketball player!”

See you later, Taylor, the fashionista!

See you later, Jasmyne, our song bird!

See you later, Kalyn, the doctor!

I can’t wait til tomorrow for them to showcase their beautiful life maps!

I think they benefited a lot from the program. One young lady even said she is going to sign-up for it next year!

Teaching at Midtown Academy was my favorite part of the trip. Just being able to be a leader and an example for the children is great. Being able to play “expert” on college and be a young vibrant person to them, was also a joy. I made them laugh and I was able to relate the students and their urban living lifestyle. Honestly, I have been a little uncomfortable here but have been maintaining my positive and being strong. Teaching the students has made everyday special! I have never been on a class trip, and I thank you for the opportunity. I bonded a lot with my classmates. I thought I was not going to be closer to anyone at all; just the regular hi and bye.

All in all, I enjoyed my trip! It was more than a service-learning experience….it was just a necessary experience for both ME and the children! It did not feel like I was volunteering at all. It did not feel like I was even doing this for a grade. It felt natural. It felt like I belonged. It felt like I was needed, and they were needed as well!

It was great!

See you later, Midtown Academy!

Leave a Reply

