Day 4: Beginning of the End

 

Today we visited a public boarding school in Baltimore.  The school attracts students from low income families from each district of Maryland.  I have to say I was very impressed by the school’s seemingly limitless resources.  The school boasted dorms for their students that rival that of Gettysburg College’s freshman dorms and even provided the students with new apple technology such as Ipads and Mac Pros.  The students seemed very comfortable in their uniforms and seemed to be actively working and participating in the classes we visited.  The school was even working on renovating a huge new facility.  I think that the idea of providing low income students with the chance to escape some of the rough conditions of city life in a dorm environment is a very compelling idea.  However, I found myself questioning whether the millions of dollars being poured into the school from non-profit organizations and donors might be better spent supplementing regular urban public schools as whole.  The school cannot operate the system on a larger scale and so the opportunity to attend will only affect a fraction of a percent of Baltimore’s urban student population.

Boarding School Classroom

Boarding School Classroom

 

Today was also our last lesson with our Midtown Academy students.  I have to say I had a great time working with the students to educate them on the college application process and career possibilities.  It was a great learning experience that I will never forget.  I hope that I made some kind of impact on the students and that they enjoy their visit to Gettysburg College in April.  I hope one day after I have established myself and accomplish my career goals that I will be able to teach for a year or two in an urban setting in New York and maybe even coach a sports team.

-Mike

 

Leave a Reply

