First Day…One Love…

Driving to the school, I didn’t really know what to expect.I wondered if we were going to have aggressive, loud, disobedient children; or if we they were given a prep talk before this week, and told to behave. Something must have happened because the children were more behaved than expected.

I loved how the children respected each other when one was speaking.

I loved how they raised they’re hand and waited to be called on.

I loved that they did their work in complete silence. (It was so quiet when they worked that I had to ask if they were willing to talk and work at the same time. They said they didn’t mind, and I was able to just get to know about why they signed up for the program, and what their school is like.)

I loved how honest my kids were!

I loved how engaged they were and how they made sure to pay attention.

I loved their humor.

I loved getting to know them based on our them of “who are you?” for today’s lesson.

I loved the questioning.

I loved talking to them on a more personal and informal level.

I loved how I was able to connect with a lot of them because of the TV shows they watched, and things they were in to career wise.

Ivan, Maya, Rodney, Jasmyne, Kalyn, Taylor…One Love!

I’m excited to see them tomorrow. I’m excited to get to know them more and to fill them up with lessons from my teachings, and my experience.

Leave a Reply

