Day 1: Breaking the Ice

Today we arrived at our hostel in Baltimore at around 11:00 AM.  Staying at a hostel is a first for me but goes along with my trip theme of trying new things.  I have to honestly say sleeping on a bunk bed and sharing a single bathroom with eight other guys is less than ideal for me, but I have definitely woken up in worse places in the course of my four years at Gettysburg.

We arrived at Midtown Academy at around 12:15 PM.  I have never been to a charter school and I was very surprised to see a K-8 school established in such a small building.  I learned that the building was originally built as a church and was later converted into a charter school.  The building itself is beautifully designed but less than ideal as a school for 180 students.

Midtown Academy: Front of the building

Midtown Academy: Front Entrance

The photo above illustrates the school’s elegance and previous history as a church.

Whatever Midtown Academy lacks in space, it more than makes up for it with a talented staff that makes the most of all of the school’s resources and motivated students.  Today our group did our best to break the ice with our group of 8th grade students.  We prepared the room and played many different games like College Jeopardy in order to both entertain and educate the students at the same time.

Preparing our teaching environment

Preparing our teaching environment

The picture above shows Phellix and Maddie setting up the room before our group of students came up for the college institute.  I believe that our first day was very successful and what I took away from a teaching perspective is that preparation is the key to a successful lesson.

Leave a Reply

